At the regular meeting on 5/16/22 Calhoun Board of Education members recognized several staff members and students for their accomplishments including Teacher of the Year nominees, Social Studies Fair, Young Writers, TSA and SkillsUSA winners, basketball and several other recognitions.  Renita Benson was also recognized as the 2022-2023 Teacher of the Year for Calhoun County Schools.  Congratulations to all who were recognized.

Teacher of the Year Nominees Dolores Starke (CMS), Norma Randall-Myer(CHS) and Renita Benson(AES) not pictured Nikki Batten (PHE)

Teacher of the Year - Renita Benson (AES)

STARS Recognitions

STARS Recognitions

STARS Recognitions

Laura Webb – WV Public Broadcasting Above and Beyond Award

Jaelyn Jett – 2022 Billy Michal Student Leadership Award

All Conference Basketball – Chase Schoolcraft, Micah Allen

All Tournament Basketball – Micah Allen

Young Writers – Raelyn Arnold, Paisley Harper, Nyla Warner, Chase Marks

Social Studies Fair – Camry Parsons, Carissa Sands, Lilly Falls, Braylea McKown, Carter Thompson, Chandler Cottrell, Clayton Foster, Ellie Hall, Gwen Sampson, Makyia Hall, Chelsea Bailey, Kallah Reip, Mercy Starcher, Emma Frail, Brooke Tingler, Trinity Probasco, Caiden Wolford, Cohen Blankenship, Eliana White, Christian Rogers, Hoyt Helmick, Addison Collins,  Braydon McKown, Ruger Carder, Tucker Sampson, Jaelyn Jett

2022 WV SkillsUSA State Conference Winners – Ryan Beron 1st and Amber Hatfield 2nd (Welding), Cody Blosser 9th (Automotive Service Technology), Zachary Brannon, Jarrid Klapka and Matthew Siers 9th (Welding Fabrication)

2022 WV Technology Student Association State Conference Winners- Riley Church, Taylor Jenkins 1st (Music Production), Riley Church, Lexi Gregory, Taylor Jenkins, Pepper McCormick, Daisy Snyder 1st (On Demand Video), Lexi Gregory 1st (Prepared Presentation), Lexi Gregory and Pepper McCormick 2nd (Debating Technological Issues), Pepper McCormick 2nd (Extemporaneous Speech), Riley Church, Lexi Gregory, Taylor Jenkins, Pepper McCormick, Daisy Snyder 3rd (Digital Video Production), Riley Church and Bryan Thomas 3rd (Forensic Science and Technology Problem Solving), Daisy Snyder, Pepper McCormick, Christian Wine, Riley Church 4th (Technology Bowl), Daisy Snyder and Pepper McCormick 5th (Architectural Design), Bryan Thomas 6th (Prepared Presentation)